Allow yourself to be honest about what you need, and see what happens

My husband created a chore rota for us and I couldn’t be happier

Philippa Bagley
4 min readNov 15, 2020
Photo by Emma Matthews Digital Content Production on Unsplash

When the first COVID lockdown hit the UK, I suddenly got to work from home for the first time ever.

I’ve spent the last 3 years travelling every single week. Mostly just within the UK, but hours and hours mostly on trains, to London, to Manchester, up, down and sideways across the country. I live on the border of Wales, so nowhere is that far, but also no where is that near either. Throughout that time my husband has worked from home. He took a sabbatical to retrain as a garden designer, then switched to affiliate marketing, so for most of the last 3 years I’ve been the sole income earner too.

For various reasons, I always tried hard to make sure that I did my fair share of the chores, even though I wasn’t home much. Partly because my husband was going through essentially a mid life crisis trying to figure out what he wanted to do for the next x years, and partly because I think it’s the way I’m wired — to get things done, try to show that I’m capable and can do everything, even when I’m not at home!

When the home working started though, I noticed I was doing more and more of the household chores. Although we were lucky to have a home office, we…

--

--

Philippa Bagley

I’m a multi passionate! Life Transformation Strategist, Emotional Change Therapist, Trainer, and Professional Speaker :) history, psychology and life is my jam!