5 reasons to embrace the AI revolution

Philippa Bagley
3 min readJan 8, 2023

It’s not quite end of days!

Photo by Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

The latest in the online world has been the buzz around Chat GPT and how it’s going to revolutionise our digital world. As an infrequent creator — be it either through writing or the odd video here and there, the first instinct is to be mildly horrified. I studied languages at university, in a time before google translate and regular internet access, and I remember the snobbish distain I had for google translate when it first came out. “It’s not as accurate as a “proper” translator, it doesn’t get context”.

I still stand by those comments, but in all honesty, I have used google translate on my travels, to check words I’ve forgotten, or in languages I barely know to make life easier. Sure it’s not as romantic as getting out my massive, heavy dictionary and scrolling through the pages, then working out the correct conjugation….. but it’s a damn sight easier!

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

And so it is with AI. AI is not the end of creativity. While AI can generate creative outputs, such as music, art, and writing, it does not have the human-like ability to be truly creative. Creativity requires originality and novelty, which are difficult for AI to achieve without…

--

--

Philippa Bagley

I’m a multi passionate! Life Transformation Strategist, Emotional Change Therapist, Trainer, and Professional Speaker :) history, psychology and life is my jam!